Individuals and organisations from across the Australasian rail industry were recognised for their outstanding achievements and innovations in rail at last night’s Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner.

Over 500 representatives from the rail industry attended the sold-out dinner to acknowledge the contributions of the thirteen category winners.

The award categories and winners were:

  • Career Achievement Award – Denise Sclater, NSW Trainlink;
  • Customer Service Award – Keolis Downer Gold Coast;
  • Employee Engagement Award – Sydney Trains;
  • Frank Franklyn Young Rail Specialist Award (RTAA) – Simon Lehman, John Holland;
  • Freight Rail Excellence Award – Rio Tinto;
  • Innovation and Technology Award – Laing O’Rourke;
  • Permanent Way Institution Young Achiever Award (PWI) – Jarod Wakefield, John Holland Rail;
  • Rail Sustainability Award-Downer Rollingstock Services;
  • Safety Award Joint Winners- V/Line; and Prescribe Australia, Aurizon and JPC;
  • Systems Engineering Award (IRSE) – Frank Bartolo, FMB Signalling;
  • TrackSAFE Award Joint winners – Queensland Rail and John Holland Rail;
  • Workforce Diversity Award – Transdev;
  • Young Rail Professional Award (RTSA) – Mark Xerri, CPB Contractors.

Australasian Railway Association (ARA) Chief Executive Officer, Danny Broad congratulated the winners for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the rail industry.

“It was exceptional to see so many talented individuals and committed companies within the rail sector awarded for their excellence, passion and dedication,” said Mr Broad.

“With over 120 nominations for the thirteen award categories, we had a high quality field.”

“I particularly want to pay tribute to Denise Sclater from NSW Trainlink, for her Career Achievement Award. As the first female train driver in NSW, Denise paved the way for many more to follow. Through hard work, determination and diligence, she has won the respect of her male colleagues and forged a route for others to follow,” he concluded.

Proceeds from the Australasian Rail Industry Awards will go towards the TrackSAFE Foundation, a registered harm prevention charity that endeavours to reduce near collision, injuries and fatalities on the rail network resulting from suicide, reckless behaviour and human error.