Manufacturers and Suppliers

Rail Industry Group (RIG)

The objectives of the RIG are to develop, investigate and provide policy advice to the ARA on various issues relevant to rail manufacturers and suppliers, as well as to develop a work plan and deliver a range of actions to achieve a favourable environment for the rail manufacturing and supplier sectors to prosper.

RIG members

Current members of the RIG are as follows:

  • Alan Beacham, UGL (Chair)
  • Michael Miller, Downer (Deputy Chair)
  • Stuart Thompson, RMCRC
  • Charles Page, Siemens
  • Jim Kira, Nova Systems
  • Mark Coxon, Alstom
  • Harry Hanegraff, Sabre
  • Lindsay Reid, Molycop (Comsteel)
  • Jean-Marie Guerin, Faiveley/Wabtech
  • Michele Golda, Ansaldo
  • Claire Pierce, GE Transportation
  • Michael McLellan, Knorr Bremse
  • Andrew Dudgeon, Bombardier
  • Pedro Pellon, CAF


Strategy and Priorities

The RIG developed a Strategy and Priorities until the end of 2017. Please find RIG Strategy, ‘Rail: Growing the Australian Economy’ here. The RIG will consider an update to this strategy in early 2018.


Harmonisation Working Groups

RIG has established seven separate projects with associated small working groups to examine options for harmonisation across the manufacturing/maintenance/supply industry.

The seven focus areas are:

1.            Tender Documents

2.            Safety Rules

3.            Homologation and System Specifications

4.            Human Interface Specifications

5.            Competence Management and Assessment

6.            Contractor and Sub-Contractor qualification and approval requirements

7.            Component level specifications

Focus area 7 is being managed by RISSB.


Joining the RIG

Interested parties wishing to join the RIG please contact Natalie Currey via or on 02 6270 4512.