Future Leaders Program

Aiming to create and retain great leaders throughout rail, the ARA Future Leaders Program is a six month program that brings together emerging leaders from throughout the Australasian rail industry.

ARA members are invited to nominate one individual they see as a future leader of our industry to participate in the annual program.

The program is structured over three workshops and includes attendance at multiple networking events, including AusRAIL.

Participants gain a whole of industry picture and an understanding of where the rail industry is headed, complete personality analysis testing and activities to better understand their own individual role as a leader, develop their leadership and management skills, participate in communication and conflict resolution sessions and in groups, complete projects that are pitched to an industry judging panel at the final workshop. The two leading projects then present their pitch as part of the AusRAIL Conference agenda where the audience votes on the winner.

Further information can be found in the ARA Future Leaders Program brochure.
For more information on our 2019 Future Leaders Program, read our Wrap Up.
2019 Program Participants:
  • Luke Stevenson, Head of Project Management Office, 2XM Projects
  • Georgina Turnor, Head of Finance, Arc Infrastructure
  • Brendan Cassels, Senior Engineer, Arup Pty Limited
  • Subrina Rahman, Senior Engineer, Aurecon
  • James Shaw, Senior Systems Engineer, Calibre Group
  • Luke Parker, Project Engineer, CPB Contractors
  • Tristan Smith, Acting Unit Manager Electrification and Projects, Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure
  • Dan Adams, Manager – Engineering, GFG - Liberty Primary Steel
  • Renae Carter, Principal People Business Partner, Queensland Rail
  • Nithurshan Nadarajah, Research Engineer, Institute of Railway Technology (Monash University)
  • Craig Edmondson, Rail Engineer, Jacobs Australia Pty Ltd
  • Aaron Hargraves, Senior Systems Assurance Engineer, John Holland Pty Ltd - Rail Division
  • Brett Ebrington, Project Engineer - Rolling Stock, MTM
  • Marijan Harris, Senior Project Engineer, Novo Rail
  • Matthew Parker, Regional Train Driver, NSW Trainlink
  • Jakson Sturt-Pavlovich, Operations Supervisor, Pacific National
  • Andrew Thomson, Rollingstock Engineer, Public Transport Authority of Western Australia (PTAWA)
  • Matthew Green, Manager Operational Planning, Queensland Rail
  • Donald Piggott-McKellar, Senior Consultant, RPS Group
  • Chris French, Program Lead – Transport, Shoal Engineering
  • Daniel Bennett, Railway Signalling Design Engineer, Siemens
  • Alex Deng, Principal Consultant, SNC Lavalin
  • Kelly Iverach, Associate Director Workforce Planning, Sydney Trains
  • Simon Chandler, Senior Project Manager - Infrastructure Investment Program, TasRail
  • Shakira Rawat, Junior Bid Manager, Thales Australia
  • Dannielle Walz, Director, Training Ahead Australia
  • Amjad Khan, Planning & Performance Coordinator, Transdev Auckland
  • Ajenta Conrad, Environment and Quality Specialist, Transdev Australasia
  • Tahnia Littlejohn, Systems Analyst Manager, Transport Canberra City Services
  • Liam Loriente, Project Manager Delivery, V/Line
  • Shez Islam, Manager - Technical Services, VicTrack
  • Thomas Pulsford, Workshop Supervisor, voestalpine VAE Railway Systems Pty Ltd
  • Jonathan Chan, Permanent Way Engineer, Rail, WSP Australia Pty Ltd


2019 ARA Future Leaders Program participants.

Learn more about the Future Leaders Program Alumni here.

More Information

For further information contact Cindy Russell or 02 6270 4504.