2021 Awards Winners

Congratulations to all the winners from the Australasian Rail Industry Awards in 2021.

Career Achievement Award – Trevor Moore, JMDR

For half a century JMDR Senior Signals Manager, Trevor Moore has shaped railway signalling, from encouraging innovation to revolutionising how trains move around the country. Trevor’s knowledge, leadership and integrity has earned him the trust of signalling engineers throughout Australia.


Customer Service Award – Sydney Trains, Sydney Harbour Bridge Rail Deck Upgrade (Glen Xureb)

The Sydney Harbour Bridge Rail Deck Upgrade project encompassed a decade of planning on one of the busiest sections of the network. It was also first time this critical piece of rail infrastructure was refurbished since the bridge opened in 1932.


Employee Engagement Award – Metro Trains Melbourne, Stay Connected at Metro

The organisation was commended for keeping employees safe in the world’s most locked down city.


Young Rail Professional Award (Railway Technical Society of Australasia) – Mary Nguyen, Sydney Trains

RTSA Executive Chair Roy Unny said Mary’s engineering and planning knowledge has led to multiple innovative solutions.

“Mary’s enthusiasm for technology has not only improved how Sydney Trains makes decisions and manages project requirements for critical resources, she has saved hundreds of hours of time for staff with her Access Locator App and track possession software,” Mr Unny said.


Freight Rail Excellence Award – Arc Infrastructure, Hampton Intermodal Terminal

Arc Infrastructure received the Freight Rail Excellence Award for delivering a 12-month construction project in only 98 days. The Hampton Intermodal Terminal (IMT) in Western Australia now employs 30 new train drivers, uses 150 locomotives and wagons and supports new growth opportunities.


Innovation and Technology Award – KiwiRail, Downer, Aurecon – Trentham to Upper Hutt Double Tracking

3D digital shields developed in New Zealand by KiwiRail, Downer and Aurecon are keeping workers safe and trains running near the nation’s capital. Virtual ‘no-go’ zones protect overhead power lines and sensitive areas by locking the controls of excavators when the machine touches the digital shield.

The technology has led to other developments such as virtual reality experiences for children to increase rail safety awareness, and was a worthy winner of the award for Innovation and Technology.


Young Achiever Award (Permanent Way Institution New South Wales) – Melanie Bowden, CPB Contractors

CPB Contractors Project Manager Melanie Bowden was presented with the PWI Young Achiever Award for her exceptional leadership and management of a major infrastructure project for Sydney Metro. Melanie headed a team of engineers and other staff to develop construction methodology and design, overcoming multiple challenges to successfully and safely deliver the Northern Connection Permanent Down Shore works.


Rail Sustainability Award – North Western Program Alliance – High Street, Level Crossing Removal Project – Reservoir Station Sustainability (Caitlin Harris)

North Western Program Alliance won the Rail Sustainability Award for pioneering the delivery of Reservoir Station in Melbourne. It was the first station in Australia to receive a five-star sustainability rating by the Green Building Council of Australia, making it the benchmark for future level crossing removal projects.


Safety Award (Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board) – Sydney Trains – Platform Gap Filler (Miri Schroeter)

Sydney Trains’ Platform Gap Filler project earned the Safety award, sponsored by RISSB,  after reducing falls between the Circular Quay platform and train from an average of 33 per year to zero. The Sydney network encompasses trains and platforms from different eras, parts of which are over 100 years old.


Signalling and Systems Engineering Award (Institute of Railway Signal Engineers) – Lido Costa, Rio Tinto Iron Ore

IRSE Chair Georgina Hartwell said Lido has been at the forefront of transportation delivery projects that have moved millions of people and tonnes of freight safely and efficiently.

“His relentless drive for improvements, innovation and safety has given Australia a world first and numerous high-tech features,” Ms Hartwell said.

“Rewarding Lido for 35 years of commitment and dedication was a pleasure and a privilege for the IRSE.”


TrackSAFE Foundation Award – Metro Trains Melbourne – Rail RUOK? Month at Metro

TrackSAFE Foundation Executive Director Heather Neil said transforming all face-to-face activities into virtual programs was not only a success, it guided MTM staff through difficult circumstances.

“MTM’s programs received a 30 per cent increase in engagement to the year prior and we acknowledge the wellness team for taking employee mental health seriously,” Ms Neill said.


Workforce Diversity Award – GHD – Australia Inclusion and Diversity (I&D) Strategy (John Cranley)

GHD won the Workforce Diversity Award for its commitment to improving marginalised groups’ visibility in the industry. A range of initiatives created lasting community benefits and increased the diversity composition of senior staff.


Emerging Rail Specialist Award (Rail Track Association Australia) – Nithurshan Nadarajah, Monash Institute of Railway Technology (IRT)

The Rail Track Association Australia (RTAA) confirmed Monash Institute of Railway Technology Research Engineer Nithurshan Nadarajah as the winner of its Emerging Rail Specialist Award.

RTAA President Jonathan Barnes said Nithurshan’s ground-breaking technology has positively impacted Australian rail.

“Nithurshan’s digital modelling software better predicts how rollingstock responds to potential stressors in the field,” Mr Barnes said.