Outstanding achievers announced at Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner

2018 July 10 | 12:45pm

Individuals and organisations from across the Australasian rail industry were awarded for their outstanding achievements and innovations in rail at last night’s Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner.
Close to 500 representatives from various sectors of the rail industry attended the sold out dinner to acknowledge the contributions of the thirteen category winners.
The award categories and winners are as follows:

  • Career Achievement Award - Peter Hands, Pacific National
  • Customer Service Award - Sydney Trains, Customer Service Transformation
  • Employee Engagement Award - Laing O'Rourke, Hunter Valley Operations - Next Gear Implementation and Tactics
  • Frank Franklyn Young Rail Specialist Award (RTAA) - Andrew Kelly, CPB Contractors
  • Freight Rail Excellence Award - TasRail, A Journey to Safety, Performance and Operational Excellence
  • Innovation and Technology Award - Metro Trains Melbourne, Uninterruptible Power Supply for Melbourne
  • Permanent Way Institution Young Achiever Award (PWI) - Abdul Karim Jamal, John Holland Group
  • Rail Sustainability Award - Byron Bay Railroad Company, Modification of Diesel Multiple Unit Rail Cars to Solar Powered Electric Operation
  • Safety Award - Australian Rail Track Corporation, Pathway to Zero Safety Program
  • Systems Engineering Award (IRSE) - Trevor Moore, Australian Rail Track Corporation
  • TrackSAFE Award - NSW TrainLink, Trauma Management Program
  • Workforce Diversity Award - Level Crossing Removal Authority, Training for the Future and the Rail Academy Newport
  • Young Rail Professional Award (RTSA) - Joint Winners - Ryan Holt, Australian Rail Track Corporation and Laura Edwards, Metro Trains Melbourne

Proceeds from the Australasian Rail Industry Awards will go towards the TrackSAFE Foundation, a registered harm prevention charity that endeavours to reduce near collision, injuries and fatalities on the rail network resulting from suicide and reckless behaviour.
For further information visit the Australasian Rail Industry Awards webpage and for award winner photos please contact Cindy Russell at crussell@ara.net.au.

Soft Release: