The strategic direction of the ARA is led by the ARA Board.

The Board meets quarterly and consists of an independent Chair elected by ARA members, the ARA CEO, eight General Directors elected by ARA members and four Sector Directors who are appointed to the Board when elected as Chair of one of four ARA sector Executive Committees; the Rail Contractors Group, Rail Industry Group, Rail Freight and Ports Group or Passenger Transport Group.

Our Constitution confirms all ARA members (except Associate and Academic Members) are eligible to nominate for a General Director position on the ARA Board. Directors are elected for a three-year tenure.