The Board of the Australasian Railway Association shapes the priorities and sets the policy directions of the organisation. Board Members – drawn from the most senior levels of industry - draw on their expertise and industry leadership to ensure a focus on the reforms, policies and projects that will build a better Australia. 

At the Annual General Meeting on 22 November 2016, members of the Australasian Railway Association (ARA) elected a new Board to lead the organisation. The new ARA Board has eight General Directors and four Industry Sector Directors.


General Directors of ARA’s Board are:


  • Bob Herbert AM, Independent Board Chairman, ARA
  • Danny Broad, Chief Executive Officer, ARA


  • Alan Beacham, Executive General Manager Rail & Defence – UGL Limited


  • Howard Collins OBE, Chief Executive – Sydney Trains


  • John Fullerton, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director – Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC)


  • Andrew Lezala, Managing Director – Metro Trains Australia


  • Karl Mociak, Executive General Manager, Group Strategy & International New Business – John Holland


  • Paul Larsen, Chief Executive Officer – Arc Infrastructure


  • Rene Lalande, Chief Executive Officer – Transdev Australasia


  • Peter Reidy, Chief Executive Officer – KiwiRail


  • Nick Easy, Chief Executive Officer – Queensland Rail




Industry Sector Directors are:

  • Representing the Passenger Transport Group:  Emma Thomas, Director General – Transport Canberra and City Services


  • Representing the Freight Transport Group:  Damien White, Chief Executive Officer – TasRail


  • Representing the Rail Industry Group:  Michael Miller, Chief Executive Officer – Downer Rail

  • Representing the Rail Contractors Group:  Julian Sharp, Project Director  - CPB Contractors (AGM – LXRP Caulfield to Dandenong)